More answers to “What is a museum?” & another example of a museum in the digital realm

Hosted by Emily Graslie, Chief Curiosity Correspondent of The Field Museum in Chicago, and part of the YouTube-based series The Brain Scoop.

 

 

One thought on “More answers to “What is a museum?” & another example of a museum in the digital realm

  1. I enjoyed watching this video because Emilie interviewed people from various roles within the museum, including visitors, researchers, educators, and administrators in order to get multiple perspectives.
    The researcher I worked with at The Field last summer actually appears in this video at 0:40 and again at 1:30. After watching the video I realize that my definition of a museum has been greatly influenced by Dr. Moreau’s ideas about museums. She mention’s museums as a place for scientific research and for making collections accessible to researchers around the world and into the future. This has made me more aware of some of my underlying assumptions about a museum’s role and how my experiences may influence my assumptions.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

